UMES ATHLETICS TOP MOMENT #15: SOFTBALL MAKES ESPN DEBUT
UMES Softball head coach Sam Douglas (pictured)
UMES Softball head coach Sam Douglas (pictured)
Aug. 11, 2014

PRINCESS ANNE, Md. – The University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) athletics department kicks off the countdown with the softball team making their ESPN debut. The squad traveled to Hampton, Va. to face conference rival, Hampton University, in a vital Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) clash to get the upper hand in the standings.

Entering the contest, Maryland Eastern Shore owned the fourth and final playoff spot in the MEAC Northern Division while Hampton held the third spot. UMES built momentum going into the televised showdown by delivering Norfolk State University (NSU) their first conference loss on the season.

In spite of the losses, the team was exposed to the national spotlight and given the opportunity to put the program on the map. Notable performances included freshman Ciara Schnyder (Arcadia, Calif.) registered three total hits and sophomore Kaitlyn Hitch (Delmar, Del.) going 7.2 innings in both games combined.

“It was a great opportunity for our ladies to demonstrate their skills on ESPNU,” said UMES Softball head coach Sam Douglas back in April. “Despite the outcome, our ladies put forth great effort and represented our institution proudly. This is a moment they will never forget.”

2013-14 UMES Top Moment Countdown Schedule

Moment #1: Friday, August 29

Moment #2: Thursday, August 28

Moment #3: Wednesday, August 27

Moment #4: Tuesday, August 26

Moment #5: Monday, August 25

Moment #6: Friday, August 22

Moment #7: Thursday, August 21

Moment #8: Wednesday, August 20

Moment #9: Tuesday, August 19

Moment #10: Monday, August 18

Moment #11: Friday, August 15

Moment #12: Thursday, August 14

Moment #13: Wednesday, August 13

Moment #14: Tuesday, August 12

Moment #15: SOFTBALL MAKES ESPN DEBUT

The 2013-14 UMES athletic season was a memorable one filled with incredible moments, championship performances and individual achievements on and off the playing field. To make way for the 2014-15 season, UMES athletics will count down 15 top moments from a year ago, based on subjective opinion by UMES administrative staff, coaches and student-athletes. The list not only recognizes academic commitment and winning, but also the spirit and pride infused into the campus. A new moment will be revealed each weekday, counting down to the start of competition for the year on Friday, August 29th.

For complete recaps, results and news of Hawk athletics, please visit www.umeshawks.com.